Spread Love and Light

by mujerapasionada

I haven’t been able to properly voice my feelings these past few weeks. On one end I feel as though my heart has lost some hope in humanity. The trailing backwards is as evident now as it has been before, there’s only a matter of time before we somehow lose our progression entirely. But then I remember that progress is not always a straight line forward, it’s almost like an arrow, being sprung back in order to go forward again but with more power.
It takes a lot of energy to be understanding and take hits and still continue with poise; That is why I think my peers, family, and myself are so emotionally exhausted. The dejavú of institutional racism being so alive in our country and society has brought clarity into the eyes of those who were once passive. My heart drags on for my fellow POC, constantly being a target to the “man”, never left to our own devices. Under the microscope of the government we are forced to do, eat, and drink what they give, like lab rats.

This is why I think in times like these it is vital that we stay connected. As Roger Water wrote in one of my favorite Pink Floyd songs “together we stand, divided we fall”. This is a time to teach and share our knowledge and feelings, to not lose hope, channel our anger into good and fight for humanity to stay sane. Let us not forget that those bigots we are constantly trying to prove our existence to are from birth conditioned to think this way. If one must continue to argue to get the point across that we should be able to coexist then so be it, as ridiculous as it sounds. Why can’t we coexist? My mind is boggled by how ego driven humans are.

With that being said, I love you. Don’t forget to reflect on yourself, your surroundings, and situation. I am sorry that we are a wounded earth beyond repair, but you can make a difference. This is not the first or last time we face a struggle and the hardest part is just getting through.

